GSoC 2024 - Proposal writing

Hi! I am a student interested in the project Physics-based Sonar Simulation for Underwater Robotics of GSoC 2024. I have been writing my proposal and following some instructions to build the Project Dave setup with Gazebo. While studying the code structure, I was wondering if what should be done for this project is something similar as this:

For the CUDA calculations part, I am still searching for more references! Any suggestions? @mabelzhang @Brian_Bingham @WoenSug_Choi

Thank you for your interest, Helena!

Nice find!

That project is a little different in that it’s work on the actual gazebo_ros_pkgs, which is a base stack that everybody else depends on, including DAVE. The notes from the project are helpful though, in the syntax and boiler plate changes.

A good example of prior work we have done to migrate a marine project from Gazebo-classic and ROS 1 to new Gazebo and ROS 2 can be found in VRX. It still has both ROS 1 and ROS 2 branches.

For Gazebo-classic to new Gazebo migration, we have migration tutorials for worlds, plugins, etc.

For ROS 1 to 2 migration, we have a migration guide. Usually for complex systems, we recommend using the ros1_bridge to help migrate one part of the system at a time, until the entire system is migrated, at which time you can stop using the bridge. I think the sonar plugin is not that involved and probably does not need the bridge.

Hope that helps.

Thanks for the answer! I’ll check out the links and the branches in VRX!

About the CUDA calculations, I found this link that I thought was interesting. I don’t have much experience with CUDA and could not run the demo’s with the multi beam sonar (I think my NVIDIA graphics card does not support CUDA feature). However, I wonder which files would have to be modified, is this one an example that would require changes? @mabelzhang