GSoC 2021: Machine Learning Extension to Ignition Gazebo

Project: Machine Learning Extension to Ignition Gazebo
Organization: Open Source Robotics Foundation
Mentors: Ashton Larkin
Student: Amr Elsersy
Linkedin - Github

Working for Open Robotics as a Google Summer of Code 2021 Intern was an amazing experience that was full of learning and commitment in such a great working environment. It is my second time at Open Robotics as I was a GSoC intern last year and worked on Plotting Tool Project.

I would like to thank my mentor @adlarkin for guiding and helping me throughout the project.

Project Overview

The project is about developing a computer vision datasets generation feature for Ignition simulator, so that users can generate datasets to train machine learning / deep learning models for computer vision applications, The project includes developing sensors for semantic & instance segmentation datasets and 2D / 3D object detection datasets.

Segmentation Camera Sensor

Segmentation sensor provides semantic and panoptic / instance segmentation images from the simulation world data, And publishes them via ign-transport msgs. It provides both colored map (for visualization) and labels map (for ML training usage).

Semantic Segmentation

In the semantic image, objects with the same label have the same color in the colored map and the same label id in the labels map

Panoptic / Instance Segmentation

In the panoptic image, each pixel has 3 values, one for label id and two for instance count of that label. So each object has a unique color in the colored map and a unique 3 values in the labels map.

Bounding Box Camera Sensor

Bounding box sensor provides 2D & 3D bounding boxes for object detection datasets and publishes them via ign-transport msgs.

2D Boxes

There are 2 types of 2D bounding boxes, a visible box which is a box around the visible part of the
object, and a full box, which is a box around the whole object even if it has an invisible part.