🏁 Ignition Edifice officially end-of-life

Hi, community! :fire:

On March 2022, Ignition Edifice reached its official end-of-life. Edifice was Ignition’s fifth major release and was supported for a a year. Notably, it was the first release where the team presented all major features during a community meeting, and released a brand-new SDF world to showcase a lot of it.

Edifice demos community meeting

Edifice introduced a new library into the Ignition family, Ignition Utils, a small library without any external dependencies, containing functionality that can be used throughout the stack. It also introduced various exciting features, including capsule and ellipsoid geometries, skybox, lightmaps, SDF model composition, hydrodynamics and ocean currents, and heightmap terrains with Ogre 1 and DART. See the entire list of features on the Release Features page.

With Edifice, the major versions of several Ignition libraries are also reaching end-of-life. Their latest released binaries will remain available at http://packages.osrfoundation.org/, but no more fixes or releases will be made.

Library major version Final release
Ignition Fuel Tools 6 6.2.0
Ignition Gazebo 5 5.4.0
Ignition GUI 5 5.5.0
Ignition Launch 4 4.1.0
Ignition Messages 7 7.3.0
Ignition Physics 4 4.3.0
Ignition Rendering 5 5.2.1
Ignition Sensors 5 5.1.1
Ignition Transport 10 10.2.0
libSDFormat 11 11.4.1
Ignition Edifice 1.0.3

Edifice is the official version paired with ROS 2 Galactic, which itself still has 8 more months of life (until November 2022). Therefore, the ros_ign bindings for Galactic will continue to be supported until then. New binary releases will be made against the final Edifice releases, and users can compile against Fortress from source.

We recommend all Edifice users migrate to a supported release as soon as possible, such as Fortress, which is the latest long-term-support release, will be supported until September 2026, and will be paired with the upcoming ROS 2 Humble . Be sure to check each library’s migration guide.

Thanks to all contributors to all libraries in Edifice! :office:

Aaron Chong
Addisu Z. Taddese
Adwait Naik
Akash Patel
Alejandro Hernández Cordero
Alexander Graber-Tilton
Ammaar Solkar
Amr Elsersy
Andrej Orsula
Arjo Chakravarty
Ashton Larkin
Atharva Pusalkar
Blake McHale
Caio Amaral
Carlos Agüero
Carl Saldanha
Chris Lalancette
Claire Wang
Darío Hereñú
David V. Lu!!
Devansh Chawla
Diego Ferigo
Dre Westcook
Eric Cousineau
Franco Cipollone
Harsh Mahesheka
Hauke Heibel
Hill Ma
Ian Chen
Ivan Santiago Paunovic
Jaldert Rombouts
Jasmeet Singh
Jenn Nguyen
John Shepherd
Jorge Perez
Jose Luis Rivero
Jose Tomas Lorente
Juan Oxoby
Kunal Tyagi
Le Thai An
Louise Poubel
Luca Della Vedova
Mabel Zhang
Marco A. Gutiérrez
Marcos Wagner
Martiño Crespo
Martin Pecka
Marya Belanger
Matias N. Goldberg
Michael Carroll
Michel Hidalgo
Nate Koenig
Nick Lamprianidis
Nikhil Nair
Pedro Alcantara
Rein Appeldoorn
Rhys Mainwaring
Rushyendra Maganty
Sebastian Wallkötter
Shane Loretz
Silvio Traversaro
Stefan Profanter
Stephen Brawner
Steve Peters
Teo Koon Peng
Timo Röhling
Tim Player
Tobias Fischer
Varun Agrawal
Vatan Aksoy Tezer
William Lew

:ignition: Ignition Dev Team :ignition:

1 Like