Will Gazebo harmonic ever be recommended for ROS2 Humble?

Hi I am a new gazebo user and while going through the documentation on the site.

“from the time of this writing” For ROS Users, it is recommended to use (https://gazebosim.org/docs/harmonic/ros_installation)
Ubuntu 22
ROS2
Gazebo Fortress

I am fairly new to gazebo and I was wondering, will ROS2 Humble every recommend gazebo harmonic (or at least be compatible)? I understand gazebo harmonic just came out last month.

Or will I have to wait till ROS2 Jazzy (I think that is what it will be called) before I have a ROS2-gazebo combination that will allow me to use gazebo harmonic? (from what I understand with the release of gazebo harmonic there is some neat camera features that would really like to use them - but I need to be using ROS2 Humble)

Thanks!

Most combinations are supported, but always only one of them has binary packages available for the gz-ros bridge. And that’s Fortress for Humble. This will not change AFAIK. But you can install the bridge from source and that should (hopefully) give you the ability to use Harmonic.

1 Like

Martin is right here only let me to “only one of them has binary packages available for the gz-ros bridge” a little “binary packages coming from the ros repository and fully integrated with the ROS distribution”.
I say this because for some combinations we do provide binary packages at packages.osrfoundation.org, see the non ROS official option in our ROS install page.

I am fairly new to gazebo and I was wondering, will ROS2 Humble every recommend gazebo harmonic (or at least be compatible)? I understand gazebo harmonic just came out last month.