Reinforcement Learning using Gazebo

Hi,

I’m new to Gazebo Fortress and my company is working on a Reinforcement Learning algorithm. We were using Unity to simulate our agent but we’ve reached the limitations of the game engine.

I was able to setup our robot and a world.

In order for RL to work, we need rewards and penalties, from what I understand the TriggeredPublisher plugin could be used to send a message on a topic when a collision with a reward is detected.

The issue I’m now faced with is how to remove rewards/penalties from the world when its touched by the robot?

Would anyone happen to have an idea?

1 Like

Can’t you also subscribe positions of the robot and make the reward masking in your processing code?

Otherwise, you could try using the breadcrumbs system like in https://github.com/osrf/subt/blob/master/subt_ign/worlds/cave_circuit_practice_01.sdf#L486 and https://app.gazebosim.org/OpenRobotics/fuel/models/Medium%20Rock%20Fall . The breadcrumb plugin has a config option telling how many deployments are allowed, and publishes a ~/remaining topic with the remaining number of deployments.

Sounds very interesting. Could you maybe write up a bit more about this?

1 Like

I found a way to make it work by compiling Gazebo from source to take advantage of the new feature of the TriggeredPublisher which allows to call a service gz-sim/pull/1611. By combining the contact sensor, the TouchPlugin and the TriggeredPublisher. I’m able to detect the collision with a reward model and then send a service request to delete the reward model from the world.

I’d post a video of the result, but I can’t upload it since I’m a new user.

[Edit: I can now add the video]

2 Likes

If it can be useful to anyone, a typical sphere reward would be defined like this:

<model name="reward_yellow">
      <pose>0 -2 0.05 0 0 0</pose>
      <static>true</static>
      <link name="link">
        <visual name="v2">
          <geometry>
            <sphere>