Ignition Gazebo motivation

Hello everyone,

I’m new to the Gazebo community and recently saw the warning about Gazebo 11 being the latest version, but I’m not understanding the motivation for transitioning to Ignition Gazebo, can someone explain it to me?

By motivation, I mean the reasons that led the developer team to opt for Gazebo Ignition, instead of a Gazebo 12, for example.

Hi @fainnc, good question. We have a high-level explanation on Ignition’s About page:

After over 15 years of development it was time for a significant upgrade and modernization. This upgrade also provided the opportunity to move away from a monolithic architecture to a collection of loosely coupled libraries. The scope of these changes required a new code base and name to distinguish Ignition from its predecessor.

To provide more context, the simulation team at Open Robotics started moving Gazebo’s codebase into reusable libraries years ago, starting with SDFormat, and then with multiple Ignition libraries like Math, Transport and Messages.

While transitioning from Gazebo’s internal libraries to the reusable ones, we realized that migrating the entire codebase while tick-tocking all public APIs would be an immense and slow effort. We went through the entire process of deprecating gazebo::math on Gazebo 8 and removing it on Gazebo 9, which required a lot of core code changes, as well as a big migration effort for downstream users. At that point, we started questioning whether the slow migration would be worth the effort and ended up never fully migrating gazebo::transport to ignition::transport.